Noticing windows

Last Sunday, the lights wouldn’t come on in the sanctuary and we had church in the dark. Mr. Raul said something that really stuck in my head and I don’t even know if he meant to. But he said “We might no have the lights, but at least we have the air conditioning.” When he said that, it reminded me of this skit that we performed for you today. We’re supposed to be grateful for what we have. And people try to convince themselves of this, by thinking that it could be worse. Because it could ALWAYS be worse.  We’re always saying things like “There are kids in Ethiopia that would love to have those carrots that you won’t eat!” And of course, we should be grateful for what we have, and there are people that are less fortunate than us. But the real reason that we should be grateful. The first reason is that what we have was given to us by God.

And you know what? I’m glad that we walked into a dark church last week. Because I looked at the front of the front that morning, and I saw the stained glass windows. I mean I always knew they were there, but I never truly appreciated them before. That day helped me to see how gorgeous hey really are. How all the different colors complement each other. They are really quite nice.

The way I thought about it was…that God’s love for us is like these windows. But the lights are like every other factor in our lives. The lights come and go, they flicker on and off. Throughout your whole life they’re always different. It turns out; you will never be able to predict what they’re going to do. As soon as you think you’ve got them figured out, they trick you by not coming on when you flip the switch one morning. But those windows…they NEVER turn off! Sure, there are days when the other things in your life distract you from them. When the lights are on, you don’t always notice the windows as much. You might even notice them at all if you have a lot on your mind. But just because you think about them less, doesn’t mean that the windows exist any less than they do when they have your full attention. Just because you have a lot on your plate, and maybe you’re having a rough day, doesn’t mean that God loves you any than he always has. You just don’t think about it as much. I mean, when I have a bad day, and I have to rush from one place to another to another….the lights in my life are on like STRODE MODE or something. I don’t stop, and breathe, and think that God loves me, and that everything in my life is supposed to be for him. Sometimes we lose sight of that.

Sometimes in your life you just want to throw up your hands and say “THAT’S IT! I’M DONE! I HAVE NOTHING LEFT!! My brother skied into a low-flying plane! My job is back-breaking and this guy is hanging out in his little office all day. IT’S NOT FAIR!!!”

Your lights are out.  And maybe, just maybe…I’m just throwing this out there, you can let it bounce around in your head for a second and if you don’t like it, just throw it back. But maybe, those days when God turns off our lights… it’s so that we can notice our windows. We can get a good look at how much God loves us, the kind of look you can’t really get with lights flickering all around you.

Sometimes things have to fall apart to fall into place…And when they do fall apart, it doesn’t matter that everything’s in pieces. What matters is how you carry them. God will let you carry your pieces however you want. But me? I want some help with mine. So I vote we remember our windows, put less stock in our lights, and carry our pieces towards the Lord, because once you remember he’s there, he’s a lot easier to see.

Leave a Reply

