Something Beautiful

“In your ocean I’m ankle deep
I feel the waves crashing on my feet
It’s like I know where I need to be
I can’t figure out
No, I can’t figure out
Just how much air I will need to breathe
When your wave crashes over me
There’s only one way to figure out
Will you let me drown?”

-Something Beautiful by NeedToBreathe

   It’s hard to trust things. Sometimes it seems impossible. You don’t like to let go of what you know will be okay for what you think might be beautiful. It’s hard to let people in when you know what it feels like to be hurt or left alone or made fun of or just forgotton. It’s hard to agree to uncertain terms of heartache when you know if you just don’t step outside your little box, you won’t get hurt. Keeping everyone- even the most awesome, trustworthy people in your life, who you KNOW care about you- at arm’s length is just safer.

   Often times I will hear people say that they don’t believe in God because there is no proof. Because you can’t see God or touch Him he must not be real. Most Christians will face this by saying something like: “You can’t see the wind, but you can feel it” or “You can’t touch electricity, but the lights turn on when you flip the switch don’t you?”

   Although these things are true, it’s not really the way I see it. I almost feel like my belief in God stems from the fact that I have no proof or explanation. For me, God transcends proof.  If His prescence was something I could count, measure or point to, it wouldn’t be what it truly is. As soon as you know how something works, it becomes less precious. Less amazing.

     I know it will be okay if I don’t allow myself to believe in my heart anything that I don’t know in my head. It will be okay. But it won’t ever be Beautiful. I can just say that I’m not going to let myself trust anyone with my heart, and it will be okay. But it won’t ever be Beautiful. I know it will be okay if I lock myself up and say that I want everyone to prove everythign they want me to believe. But it won’t ever be Beautiful. Beautiful things can’t be proven, you just have to trust Beautiful-and let it be.

    Let Something Beautiful touch you.

Leave a Reply

