Remember those in prison as if you were in prison with them

    34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

                                                       Matthew 25:34-36

       The United States prison system has a 50% recidivism rate. I see people everyday who are discovering what they are passionate about. I know people who were born to play music or work with special needs children or sell people life insurance or feed people or teach people or preach to people or stand up for people. But I see a lot of people who wander. A lot of people who haven’t found what type of justice they are meant to fight for or who haven’t found what type of love their meant to show. A lot of the time, this is because they never got the oppurunity due to something else that has happened to them. But I really believe that everyone has a thing.

       I’m not sure what mine is. All I really know is that I like to give people some Jesus and I like to help their find thing. And I also know that a little bit goes a long way in helping people on their path. Forgive, Don’t Forget is a part of  Prison Fellowship. Their Get A Shirt, Give a Shirt ministry ensures that for every tshirt you buy, a dress shirt and tie will be given to a recently released inmate so they have nice clothes to wear to job interviews. Having the right attire to an interview significantly increases the chances of being hired, and employment significantly decreases the chances of recidivism. This puts these men one step closer to finding their path and their purpose. Below, you can watch the video from Prison Fellowship.

         “Remember those in prison as if you were in prison with them” – Hebrews 13:3

Leave a Reply

